Part 2 of Friday’s Post

March 2, 2013

With this many used LPs staring me in the face, there just HAD to be at least one or two that would fill in some kind of gap in my TSV collection. About ten minutes into my perusal at the Northlake Festival Goodwill, I saw this “WTF?”  LP: (click on images for a bigger version)

JV1

JV2

Tom Bosley doing sex jokes? That’s good enough for me. This comedy LP from 1976 led by stand-up veteran Jackie Vernon also features Louisa Moritz who, as the liner notes say, “…has a lot going for her more than talent.” That’s kind of a code that she was destined to end up doing a lot of topless scenes in B-movies. Tom Bosley talking about sex provides a good contrast to his role as Mr. Cunningham on Happy Days or his pitches for Glad Heavyweight Trashbags. I’ll listen to it this Sunday.

With time running out, I saw the LP I was destined to find before some hipster grabbed it on Saturday:

 

 smeck

This Smeck guy is HUGE. Just go to the tubes and put in Roy Smeck and see what you get. He ineveted is own Uke, played anything with strings, and had a really long career. This LP features Smeck playing lots of different instruments. Here’s just one of several Smeck tubes:

So, at 77-cents each, I felt I had really scored some good TSV on my day off. So when I got home, I decided to play my Smeck LP first. WTF? WRONG RECORD INSIDE!! Instead of Smeck, I wound up with a childrens’ record on the Golden Records label. Oh well. That was a lesson I will not forget. And there’s always the e-bays, but that’s like cheating for a real TSV digger like me.

 

Blog at ya later, and keep diggin!

2 Responses to “Part 2 of Friday’s Post”

  1. The “sex is not hazardous to your health”cover is GREAT!

  2. Kenneth Buttercup said

    Sex certainly can be hazardous to your health. Read some Dworkin (PIV is rape). Typical male perspective.

Leave a comment